Death is what makes us human.

We are spiritual beings moving on this Earth plane in these human shells. These physical bodies are alive, and so it is also natural for our bodies to eventually die. There are two common meditations on death in the Tibetan tradition. The first meditation focuses on the certainty and imminence of death, in order to motivate us to make the best use of our lives. The second meditation is a rehearsal of the actual death process, with the purpose to familiarize us with death and take away the fear of the unknown, thus allowing us to die skillfully.

Grief is not a feeling. Grief is a skill.

Grief is not a feeling. Grief is a skill. And the twin of grief as a skill of life is the skill of being able to praise or love life, which means wherever you find one authentically done, the other is close at hand. Grief and the praise of life: side by side.” – Stephen Jenkinson

There are five stages of grieving, also known as the Kübler-Ross model. Applicable to grieving of all kinds, from relationship break-ups, to death and dying, referring to this model can be quite helpful during times of intense emotional work.
Stage 1: Denial
Stage 2: Anger
Stage 3: Bargaining
Stage 4: Depression
Stage 5: Acceptance

There is a hole inside most of us and it’s in the approximate shape of a soul.” (Jenkinson)

Griefwalker: The Full Film (link to)

Griefwalker: The Trailer


Watching a peaceful death of a human being reminds us of a falling star; one of a million lights in a vast sky that flares up for a brief moment only to disappear into the endless night forever.”   – Elisabeth Kübler-Ross